Invited SpeakerS



Professor Yu Liu
Northwestern Polytechnical University, China



 Prof. Dr. Yu Liu got her PhD degree at the University of New South Wales (UNSW), Australia. She is currently a professor at the School of Mechanics, Civil Engineering and Architecture, Northwestern Polytechnical University (NPU), China. She is a council member of the Architects Branch of the Architectural Society of China, a council member of the Solar Energy Building Branch of China Renewable Energy Society. Between 1990 and 2000, she was a visiting scholar at the University of Technology, Sydney (UTS), Australia, with the support of the China Scholarship Council. In 2010, she was a senior visiting scholar at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Sweden, with the support of EU Erasmus Mundus scholarship.

She has accumulated over 30 years of research & teaching experience in the green, ecological and sustainable building & environment area. As director of the International Joint Research Center on Sustainable Building and Environment (IJRC-SBE) of Xi’an city, the founder & director of the Sustainable Building and Environmental Research Institute (SBERI) of NPU, she has established a broad multidisciplinary collaboration with researchers from different countries. Her recent research projects focus on green building assessment & design decision-making support, climate adaptive design and solar energy potential of urban/rural settlements in west China. As a principal researcher, she has completed more than 20 major research fund projects (including internationally collaborate projects).

She has published over 160 research papers in a range of professional journals and international conferences, 6 books and 2 book chapters, has been guest editor of the special issue of a couple of international journals, led or participated in editing of 9 building standards, and has been granted 10 patents. She received over 36 awards, including the China Construction Science and Technology Award and the Science and Technology Award of Shaanxi Province.











Copyright © AERE 2024 | |